useless thoughts

little feet for
little shoes.
i adjust my gait
accordingly
trying to keep up with you.
long strides replace
wheels like a guinea.
a long-legged soul
cries out, as if it’s
trapped within me.
who cares? does it matter?
slow deliberate steps
reflect what little dignity
that escapes from my
dark inner depths.
i dance as though
I’ve got nothing left.
i’m as tall as a tree and
my shoes are my roots
that connect with earth
in an effect reflecting me.
falling asleep as i sit upright
i struggle not to close my eyes.
this is my poem but i’m
not all here.
still taking pills.
still drinking beer.

Leave a Reply

